Pendragon Press. The World of Music and the Music of the World.

By Topic:

Quick Search:

Shopping Cart: 0 item


Bartók's Chamber Music

Janos Karpati

516 pp.

0 illustrations

ISBN: 978-0945193197

hardback $75.00

Out-of-Print. This book is no longer available from Pendragon Press.


At first sight a work devoted to Bartók's chamber music looks as though it were simply concerned with a genre division attempting an exposition of no more than a single aspect of the whole oeuvre. But in Bartók's case the chamber music is not simply a matter of grouping according to genre-it is really the framework for his whole oeuvre. (From the introduction) János Kárpáti one of the outstanding scholars in the field of Bartók research here presents a revised and expanded edition of his Bartók's String Quartets (Corvina Press 1975).


Janos Karpati:

J�nos K�rp�ti (born 1932, Budapest), Hungarian musicologist, professor and head librarian of the Liszt Academy (University) of Music, Budapest from 1961 till 2005. He studied at the same institution with Zolt�n Kod�ly, Bence Szabolcsi and D�nes Bartha, took his PhD in 1968 and DSc in 1995. He collected folk music in Morocco (1958) and in Japan (1988, 1994). He cooperated with several international projects (Unesco�East�West, Music in the Life of Man), and served 1980�1986 as vice president of the International Association of Music Libraries. From1998 till 2006 chaired the Hungarian Musicological Society. His main research fields in musicology are: Bart�k analysis, and Japanese traditional music. He lectured at several universities in the USA, Canada, Japan, South Korea, France, Italy. He represented Hungary at several international conferences (Tehran, New Delhi, Florence, Tokyo, Osaka, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles). He was decorated by the Erkel Prize (1971), the Grand Prize of Hungarian Creative Artists (1991), the Award for Excellence of the American Liszt Society (1996), the Sz�chenyi Prize, J�zsef E�tv�s Wreath (2005).