Pendragon Press. The World of Music and the Music of the World.

By Topic:

Quick Search:

Shopping Cart: 0 item


Philidor Manuscripts: Dance Music from the Ballets de Cour 1575-1651

Historical Commentary Source Study and Transcriptions from the Philidor Manuscripts

David J. Buch

217 pp.

0 illustrations

ISBN: 978-0945193333

hardback $55.00

Out-of-Print. This book is no longer available from Pendragon Press.


David Buch's informative volume is the first modern study edition and commentary dealing with almost all of the surviving French five-part scores of dance music from the ballets de cour 1575-1651. These full scores are especiall y important since most ballets from this time are preserved only in two-part readings (melody and bass). The exception here is a newly-created five-part score for the Ballet des Nations based on an original two-part setting. Also included are the six Allemandes from 1575 to ca. 1600 a Ballet � cheval of 1615 a selection of miscellaneous Entr�es from several ballets prepared for the Concert � Louis XIII par les Viollons et lest 12 Grands hautbois of 1627 and Philidor's five-part reading of seventeen Entr�es from the Ballet du Roy des Festes de Baccus of 1651.


David J. Buch:

Ph.D., Visiting Professor, The University of Chicago, past Professor of Music at Wayne State University and Professor Emeritus at the University of Northern Iowa, has published numerous scholarly articles and books. His most recent book is Magic Flutes and Enchanted Forests: The Supernatural in the Eighteenth-Century Musical Theater (2008). His edition of the opera Der Stein der Weisen with newly-discovered music attributed to Mozart, was published by A-R Editions (2007) and four more operas are in preparation in this series. In 1998 he was named UNI Distinguished Scholar and received the Donald N. McKay Research Award.