Pendragon Press. The World of Music and the Music of the World.

By Topic:

Quick Search:

Shopping Cart: 0 item


Liszt: A Chorus of Voices

Michael Saffle
July 30, 2012

395 pp.

49 illustrations

ISBN: 978-1576471685

Hardback clearance price $21.00

Out-of-Print. This book is no longer available from Pendragon Press.


2011, the current �Liszt year,� marks the 200th anniversary of Franz Liszt�s birth. In celebration, Pendragon announces Liszt: A Chorus of Voices. Although it contains the results of scholarly research and the opinions of more than a few academics, this volume is not a musicological monograph. Nor is it a tell-all gossip book. Instead, it presents personal as well as professional information about its contributors, their lives and experiences, and the books, articles, performances, recordings, and other products they have created along Lisztian lines. Counting places of birth as well as citizenship and current residence, the contributors to Liszt: A Chorus of Voices come from or currently live in Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Singapore, South Africa, Sweden, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America. These men and women are collectors, composers, choral and orchestral conductors, film directors and producers, journalists, librarians, musicologists, organists, periodical editors, pianists, and university administrators; a few of them also represent extra-musical fields, including art history, cultural studies, and English literature. Each of them has something distinctive to say not only about Liszt, but about him- or herself. Musical examples and other illustrations, as well as photographs of all contributors, provide additional information as well as diversion. Inspired by Schumann: A Chorus of Voices, edited by John C. Tibbetts and published by Amadeus during the 2010 �Schumann year,� Liszt: A Chorus of Voices will appear during 2011 as No. 12 in the �Franz Liszt Studies Series� edited by Michael Saffle.


Michael Saffle:

Completed his Ph.D. at Stanford University in 1977 and has taught music and humanities at Virginia Tech since 1978; in 1993 he was promoted to the rank of Professor. His publications include Franz Liszt: A Guide to Research (revised and republished by Routledge in 2004 and again in 2009) as well as articles and reviews in the Journal of the American Musicological Society, Acta Musicologica, Notes, the Journal of Musicological Research, the Programmhefte of Bayreuth�s annual Wagner Festival, Asian Music, Music & Letters, and the Leonardo Music Journal. In addition to fellowships from the Humboldt Foundation, the Rockefeller Foundation, the American Philosophical Society, and the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and Public Policy, Saffle held the 2000-2001 Bicentennial Fulbright Professorship of American Studies at the University of Helsinki�a �European Distinguished Chair.� In 2008 he also held the Au Yeung King Fong research fellowship at Hong Kong Baptist University. As a teacher Saffle has three times won Virginia Tech�s Certificate of Teaching Excellence; in 2007 he received the William E. Wine �lifetime� Award from Tech�s Alumni Association. On his sixtieth birthday, he was honored with a �Festschrift� issue of the cultural-studies ejournal Spaces of Identity [Volume 6, No. 3 (3 December 2006)].