Pendragon Press. The World of Music and the Music of the World.

By Topic:

Quick Search:

Shopping Cart: 0 item


Salve Reginas of G.B. Pergolesi

Alan Atlas

136 pp.

0 illustrations

ISBN: 978-0945193586

hardback $120.00

Inquire about Availability


Of the nine or more settings of the Salve regina attributed to GiovanniBattista Pergolesi by various eighteenth-century sources only the two presented here can beconsidered authentic-one in A minor for soprano strings and continuo almost certainly fromthe earliest stages of his career; the other in C minor for the same forces one of his most widelydisseminated works and possibly his final work one that is both stylistically and aesthetically ona par with his renowned Stabat mater. The ninety-two known sources for the worktransmit it in no fewer than six distinctly different versions and this publication presents the moststriking of them in a series of appendices.


Alan Atlas:

Allan Atlas is Distinguished Professor of Music at The Graduate Center of The City University of New York. He has published extensively on music of the Renaissance, Pergolesi (he edited a volume in the Pendragon Press Complete Works series), Puccini, Victorian England, and, most recently, Ralph Vaughan Williams. He performs on the English concertina with the New York Victorian Consort.