Pendragon Press. The World of Music and the Music of the World.

By Topic:

Quick Search:

Shopping Cart: 0 item

Franz Liszt Studies (Completed)

Series Editor: Michael Saffle
Edited since its inception by Michael Saffle, the �Franz Liszt Studies Series� seeks volumes to complement those already in print. To date the series includes Alan Walker�s and Gabriele Erasmi�s examination of documents pertaining to Liszt�s proposed marriage with the Princess Carolyne zu Sayn-Wittgenstein, the wind and choral music of Liszt and Wagner, a complete translation of Liszt letters belonging to the Library of Congress, and several other monographs. Also featured are three volumes of �Analecta Lisztiana�: collections of conference papers and book chapters devoted to many aspects of Liszt�s life, career, and compositions. Forthcoming titles include Liszt: A Chorus of Voices (devoted to interviews with and personal statements from Lisztians around the world), Michael Short�s translation of Liszt�s correspondence with Marie d�Agoult, and Robert Laudon�s examination of the dramatic symphony from Berlioz to Liszt.
Michael Saffle has published articles and reviews in the Journal of the American Musicological Society, Notes, Acta Musicologica, the Programmhefte of Bayreuth�s Wagner Festival, Asian Music, Music & Letters, and the Leonardo Music Journal as well as the new MGG and the International Dictionary of Black Composers. Among his latest projects are examinations of �rural music� and European imagery in American film and television. His books include Franz Liszt: A Research and Information Guide (Garland, 1991; Routledge 2004, revised 2009). In December 2006 he was honored with a �Festschrift� published as an issue of the cultural-studies eJournal Spaces of Identity.